ALP Staff

ALP has an incredible, supportive team of staff members that support our students, volunteers, and everything we do!

We are so proud of the diversity of our staff, which reflects the diversity of our student body. Altogether our staff speak and understand ten different languages (English, Spanish, Russian, Ukrainian, French, Nuer, Japanese, Italian, Portuguese, and Emakhuwa). For the languages without direct support, we offer Language Link phone support.

Lori Pickett

Executive Director

Marisol Vargas

Director of Finance & Social Services
English, Español

Amy Facklam

Director of Adult Education
English, Française

Rosario Grande

Family Literacy Coordinator
English, Español

Kengo Nagaoka

Adult Education Student Integration Specialist
English,  Japanese 日本語

Aspen Daigle

Student Integration Specialist
English, Español

Katya Batishcheva

Program Support Specialist
English, РУССКИЙ, Украïнська, Française

Lauren Neuman

Adult Education Instructor
English, Español

Ben Virgin

Language Arts and Social Studies Instructor
English, Italiano

Artur Zacarias

Math and Science Instructor
English, Português, Español, Emakhuwa 

Nyabony Gat

PLN Coordinator, PATH Academy instructor
English, Nuer

Ashley Mattson

Community Integration Specialist
English, Française

Erin LoPorto

Resource Coordinator

Jody Best

Distance Education Coordinator
English, Español

ALP Board Members

ALP is supported by a hard-working, generous group of board members who support our staff with promotions, fundraising, special projects, and so much more!

Amanda Dale

Director of Cross-Cultural Programs, Alaska Humanities Forum

Kate Powers

Vice President
Director of Quality Integration, Anchorage Neighborhood Health

Shannon Kuhn

Epidemiologist, Global Health Fellow, CDC 

Brian Kirchner

Office Manager, DeerStone Consulting, Inc.

Sue Liebner

Board Member, Volunteer Teacher
Principal, ASD, retired

Linda Gerwin

Board Member
Accountant, Natives of Alaska

Jim Anderson

Board Member, Volunteer Teacher
CPA, retired

Mari Selle

Board Member
Maritime Director, Alaska Safety Alliance